The Girl With The Raven Mask – Leif Edling Recording Bass

The Girl With The Raven Mask – Recording Bass & Guitar (OFFICIAL TRAILER)

Girl With The Raven Mask (OFFICIAL TRACK & LYRICS)

AVATARIUM – Announce album title, tracklist and release date + reveal cover artwork of »The Girl With The Raven Mask«

2015-08-10 – Swedish doom metal masters AVATARIUM are set to release their upcoming album, which is called »The Girl With The Raven Mask«, on October 23rd via Nuclear Blast.

Bassist Leif Edling is really content with the result:
“Think we have created something unique this time withAVATARIUM! The songs are more written to be just songs and there are some really nice moments on the record that I personally love… the straight forward title track, the beautiful ‘January Sea’, the riff in ‘Ghostlight’ and the groove in ‘Run Killer Run’. The organ and the Rhodes piano are ridiculously loud in the mix at times, even Dr. Carl agrees hehe, but i think it gives even more edge to the songs! I hope people will dig »The Girl With The Raven Mask« as much as I do myself, and if they don’t, it’s their problem. A band can’t deliver more than we have done here, so it is an album close to perfection! When an album is perfect…shoot me!“ 

Guitarist Marcus Jidell comments as well:
AVATARIUM have been taking another big step with this album and I can’t wait for people to hear the songs and to play them live on our tour in November! It has been a lot of work but also a great pleasure to be the producer of this album, I’m very happy with the result and I feel very proud to be a member of this powerful and talented band!“

The tracklists for »The Girl With The Raven Mask« are as follows:

01. Girl With The Raven Mask
02. The January Sea
03. Pearls And Coffins
04. Hypnotized
05. Ghostlight
06. Run Killer Run
07. Iron Mule
08. The Master Thief
Bonus DVD (live @ Hammer Of Doom 2014):
01. Moonhorse
02. Bird Of Prey
03. All I Want
04. Tides Of Telepathy
05. Deep Well
06. Pandora’s Egg
07. Avatarium

01. Girl With The Raven Mask
02. The January Sea
03. Pearls And Coffins
04. Hypnotized
05. Ghostlight
06. Run Killer Run
07. Iron Mule
08. The Master Thief

Side A:
01. Girl With The Raven Mask
02. The January Sea
Side B:
01. Pearls And Coffins
02. Hypnotized
Side C:
01. Ghostlight
02. Run Killer Run
Side D:
01. Iron Mule
02. The Master Thief

AVATARIUM will bring the energy of their records onto the tent stage of Summer Breeze in Dinkelsbühl, Germany at the NUCLEAR BLAST label night next Wednesday. Be there!

Don‘t miss the band on their tour in autumn with their label mates of THE VINTAGE CARAVAN and the also Sweden-based HONEYMOON DISEASE as well:

18.11. DK Lyngby – Templet
19.11. D Hamburg – Klubsen
20.11. D Essen – Turock
21.11. NL Eindhoven – Speedfest
22.11. UK London – Underworld
23.11. D Frankfurt – Das Bett
24.11. CH Pratteln – Z7
25.11. D Munich – Backstage
26.11. D Leipzig – Moritzbastei
27.11. A Wien – Szene
28.11. A Innsbruck – Weekender
29.11. D Berlin – Bi-Nuu


Avatarium will play at the Gothenburg Sound Festival!!

Get Tickets Here!

Facebook event



avatarium-all-i-want-epHailing from Stockholm, gloomy metal outfit AVATARIUM was founded in late 2012. Following the success of their eponymous debut, out on November 01st, 2013 and the first ever single ‘Moonhorse’, released September 20th of the same year, AVATARIUM have just announced the release of their new EP ‘All I Want’. The vinyl/digital only EP will be out November 14th, 2014 via Nuclear Blast.

Mid 2013, just eight months within the bands’ history, the word was spreading rapidly about their special blend of heavy adventurous music: Influenced by the likes of JETHRO TULL, BLUE ÖYSTER CULT, BLACK SABBATH, RAINBOW, adding the peaks of pop and 60’s vibes, AVATARIUM deliver some delicate moments of beauty and frailness rarely to be found in a band these days.

It all began in winter 2012, when Leif Edling (ex-CANDLEMASS) needed help to demo a couple of songs he was working on, and Marcus Jidell (ex-EVERGREY) offered to help. Weeks turned into months and a few songs became the first full length album »Avatarium«, mixed by well-known Swedish engineer Ronny Lahti.

Enter 2014, AVATARIUM feel the need to break new grounds musical wise and after listening to some old vinyl records, the desire to get closer to this kind of material was born.
With a new demo track at hand, bassist Leif Edling was joined by guitarist Marcus Jidell to work on the song that would be called ‘All I Want’.

While the two musicians got deeper into exploring where they want to take the music of AVATARIUM and how they can keep things interesting for themselves and for the fans, yet another song was created, and the idea to make a new EP was fully set.

The old spirit comes even more alive, with psychedelic percussionist Michael Blair, who has worked with Tom Waits and Lou Reed among others, guesting on ‘All I Want’.

Commented guitarist Marcus Jidell: “He showed up at the studio with a big ”bag of tricks” with metals, crashers, shakers and a lot of strange things which he made sound like if you throw in a punkrocker at Woodstock and feed him with psychedelic pills!” About the new songs, he adds: “We tried to keep things simple and spontaneous during the recordings, something I hope people will be able to hear. Also I think that Jennie-Ann Smith has reached new levels with the way she sings on both of the new songs!”

Track listing for ‘All I Want’ will be as follows:

Side A (45 RPM)
01. All I Want
02. Deep Well
Side B (33 RPM)
01. Pandora’s Egg (live)
02. Tides Of Telepathy (live)
03. Bird Of Prey (live)

The three live songs were recorded at the 2013 edition of renowned Roadburn Festival in Tilburg, Netherlands, which was the second ever AVATARIUM show and the first one outside of Sweden.

You can pre-order ‘All I Want’ at the following links:

Avatarium on Swedish National Radio

The Avatarium show at Sweden Rock will be broadcasted on Swedish National Radio, saturday the 20th! There will be more info about this as we get closer to the date of the show. #Avatarium #SwedishNationalRadio #p3 #live

Avatarium tour with Amorphis

Amorphis has just announced to be hitting the road in late December in celebration of the 20th Anniversary of their legendary 1994 release ”Tales From The Thousand Lakes”.Metal Hammer presents:
Amorphis – Tales From The Thousand Lakes 20th Anniversary tour

26.12. D Berlin – Huxley’s Neue Welt
27.12. D Leipzig – Täubchenthal
28.12. D München – Backstage
29.12. NL Tilburg – 013
30.12. CH Pratteln – Z7
31.12. D Essen – Weststadthalle

Joining in the band on tour will be Swedish label mates Avatarium.

Commented guitarist Esa Holopainen: “We are really happy to have AVATARIUM as a special quest for Tales From The Thousand Lakes 20th Anniversary tour. A year ago on tour in Germany we hooked up with Nuclear Blast guys and they brought us several of their new releases. Being a huge fan of CANDLEMASS I was obviously really interested in AVATARIUM release. I guess this was one of the albums everybody enjoyed listening to and why not, the band and their music is great!”

Presented by Metal Hammer, EMP, Musix, Blast!, Legacy, Metalnews